Staff of MenTseeKhang and Settlement Hospitals and Clinics received mementos on day of Nobel Peace Prize conferment on HHDL

MenTseeKhang Staff getting awarded the mementos by Speaker Pema Jungney

Dharamshala: Thirty years ago in 1989, Tibetans’ most beloved spiritual leader His Holiness the Dalai Lama whose name today is associated with different epithets like the man of peace and champion of compassion was conferred the Noble Peace Prize for his truth and non-violent approach to China’s oppression of Tibet.

Tibetans around the globe broke into a frenzied celebration after learning that their precious leader was named the 1989 winner of the Nobel Peace Prize and the day earned a significance in the calendar for the Tibetan people.

10th December marks the 30th anniversary of the iconic 1989 conferment of Nobel Peace Prize to His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the Tibetans in exile celebrated the occasion in full swing.

Amidst the laughter and cheer echoing throughout the courtyard of Tsuglagkhang in Dharamshala where the residence of His Holiness is seated, the heads of three pillars of Tibetan democracy and a host of esteemed guests opened the day-long celebration with key-note speakers resonating His Holiness the Dalai Lama’s message of peace and non-violence.

Some of the esteemed guests include the Chief Executive Councillor Shri Gyal P Wangyal of Ladakh Autonomous Hill-Development Council and his entourage, Shri Ajay Singh, President of Indo Tibetan Friendship Association, Kalons and other dignitaries.

After the speeches by dignitaries, speaker Pema Jungney awarded the below four staffs who have completed 25 years of service.

Click here to see their details.DetailsoftheStaffinTibetan.

1 Dr. Shedrup Tsering Wangyal

Dr. Shedrup Tsering Wangyal, after successfully completing a five year course on Sorig from Tibetan Medical and Astro-Science Institute, joined the Darjeeling branch Clinic on 1st September 1994.

From the year 1996 to 2001, he worked in Dalhousie, Chapel, and Rawangla as a doctor. Then from 2002 to 2013, he worked as both the Executive Secretary and the doctor in Jisipa, Bylakuppe, and Ladakh.

Since 2014, he has been working as both the Executive secretary and the doctor of Kalimpong branch Clinic to this day.

Dr. Shedrup la has tiredlessly served our community for 25 years.

2 Mr. Lobsang Tsering

Mr. Lobsang Tsering joined Men-Tsee-Khang’s Nizamuddin Clinic as a cook in the year 1994. On 1st November 2002, he was posted to Mcleod Ganj’s branch as both the cook and the house keeper. After that, on 16th April 2006, he was transferred to head office as watchman. On 7th Sept. 2007, he worked as both the cook and the care taker of Men-Tsee-Khang’s rehabilitation center.

On 6th July 2011, he was appointed as the peon of Department of Medical Stock and Sales of Men-Tsee-Khang head office. On 1st April 2014, he was transferred to Herbal Product and Research Department in the medical herbs section.

From 2015 to 2017, he was assigned in the Job Pool after which he was transferred to Chauntara for growing medicinal plants.

Mr. Lobsang la spent 25 years of his life in the service of Men-Tsee-Khang.

3 Mrs. Passang Lhamo

Mrs. Passang Lhamo joined Men-Tsee-Khang on 15th Feb. 1994 as an accountant in account section of the Head Office. For her professional growth, she completed her bachelors in in 2002 while working. On 1st Jan 2007, she was appointed as the deputy head of accounts section and on 1st July 2014, she was appointed as the accountant of the Department of Pharmacy.

On 1st Oct 2017, she was appointed as the Head of Department of Medical Stock & Sales. In 2017, she participated in Sorig Medical Camp held in Germany, Spain, France, and Swiss.

During her service, she was a member of Men-Tsee-Khang’s housing committee. She was also a member as well as Deputy Chairman of staff welfare committee.

She served Men-Tsee-Khang for the past 25 years and continue to do so as the Head of Department of Medical Stock & Sales.

4 Mrs. Sonam Yangdon

Mrs. Sonam Yangdon joined MenTseeKhang as office secretary in Research & Development Department in 1994. She researched on Cancer, Diabetes and Detoxifying Mercury. She also contributed in adopting terms for the Terminology Section of Education department of CTA.

On 1st Oct. 2013, she became the office secretary of the Body, Mind, and Life (BML) section. She contributed in organizing BML conferences and also in conducting workshops on mental health.

On 1st Jan 2015, she was appointed as the Personal Assistant of Men-Tsee-Khang’s director. Alongside her work as personal assistant, she organized various Men-Tsee-Khang exhibition and medical health camp in Delhi, Mumbai, and Kalaburagi. In 2016, she participated in an exhibition-cum outreach medical camp held at Taiwan and Singapore.

On 1st May 2019, she retired from her position after serving Men-Tsee-Khang for 25 years.

5 Tenzin Nangsa

Mrs. Tenzin Nangsa joined MenTseeKhang as a baby sitter of Men-Tsee-Khang’s baby room in 1994. In 2003, she was transferred to Herbal Product Research Department. She also helped the Astrology section in making amulets in the same year.

On 1st April 2015, she was transferred to Museum section which comes under Materia Medica Department. Since then she has been working in that section till now.

Five staff have completed 25 years of service working in Settlement Hospitals and Clinics directly under Department of Health, CTA. Below are their details and all were awarded a memento at their settlements for their service for a period of quarter of century.

1 Mr. Tenzin Lhawang

Mr. Tenzin Lhawang got Department of Health’s scholarship and completed his diploma in Ophthalmic Technician (OT) from Aravind Eye Hospital, Madhurai, Tamil Nadu. After completing the diploma, he was appointed as the Ophthalmic Technician of the then newly opened eye section of the Mainpat Settlement Hospital in 1994. He later led the eye checkup outreach program in two central India Tibetan settlements and Sonamling Tibetan settlement in Ladakh.

Apart from his work as OT, he took the role of Lab technician, accountant, pharmacist, and as health worker whenever there is a need. He also helped in coordinating various medical camps organized by DoHe.

On 27th Jan 2014, he was appointed as the Executive Secretary of the Odisha Menlha Hospital and till date he has been serving in that position.

2 Mrs. Tsewang Choedon

Mrs. Tsewang Choedon, after completing her schooling from C.S.T Mussoorie, completed a three month training program as a Community Health Worker (CHW) at Delek Hospital. On 1st September 1994, she joined Dekyiling hospital as CHW and since then she has been working there for 25 years and continues to do so.

3 Mrs. Nyima Dolma

Mrs. Nyima Dolma joined Dhondenling Vanthiel Hospital as a CHW in 1994. From Oct. 2002 to Nov. 2011, she was in charge of the pulmonary Tuberculosis section. Since then she has been serving there for 25 years and continues to do so.

4 Mrs. Dechen Choezom

Mrs. Dechen Choezom joined Odisha Hospital as CHW in 1993. After that, on 16th Oct. 2004, she was transferred to Jorpatti Hospital. Since then she has been serving there for 25 years and continues to do so.

5 Mrs. Dorji Dolma

Mrs. Dorji Dolma joined Paljorling Settlement Hospital as a nurse in 1993. Later, on 1st December 1994, she was transferred to Boudha settlement hospital and since then she has been serving there for 25 years and continues to do so.


To read in detail about the celebration check the link