Chorig Kalon attends the Finale of Tibetan Basketball Tournament Against TB in Mundgod

Mundgod: After a weeklong long league match between eight teams, team Lugsam and team Dekyi Larso were two qualified teams for the final match of the Tibetan Basketball Tournament against Tuberculosis (TB). The first tournament was organised in Dharamshala in 2017 which was attended by CTA President Dr Lobsang Sangay, Kalons and members of Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile.

Speaking at the closing ceremony on Sunday, Kalon Karma Gelek Yuthok, Department of Religion and Culture, CTA introduced the different initiatives undertaken by Department of Health in tackling the prevalence of TB and promoting awareness via different activities and projects.

The closing ceremony was held on 24 February at Mundgod Tibetan settlement. Kalon was the chief guest at the event.

Kalon thanked the Department of Health & Delek hospital for their collaborative efforts and re-affirmed Kashag’s commitment to eradicating TB from the community by 2022.

He further encouraged people to be more aware of their health and to seek medical advice whenever required.

A short skit on TB was performed by Sambhota Tibetan School (STS) Mundgod.

Kalon later presented the trophies and prizes to the winning teams and individuals. Team Ladakh was presented the fair play trophy and cash prize of Rs 5000 for their discipline and sportsmanship shown during the match. Tenzin Chondhen from team Dekyi Larso was awarded the best player trophy and cash prize of Rs 5000 for scoring the highest (139) in the tournament. Team Dekyi Larso won the runners up trophy with cash prize of Rs 30,000. Finally, team Lugsam was awarded the winner’s trophy with cash prize of Rs 50,000.

“Department of Health & Doeguling Youth sports Association (DYSA) wishes team Lugsam from Bylakuppe for winning the tournament for the 2nd consecutive time. Department also like to thank His Holiness the Dalai Lama Charitable Trust (HHDLCT) for the kind funding and continuous support for this event,” said the Health Department.